Anchorage - what is the best hotel for me

Hotel industry in Anchorage from 1991 till today.

During last decade the number of newly build hotels increases. The market grow on this sector is result of the civilization development, claims dr Ryker Gallegos from Institute for New Economic Thinking

Good hotel in Anchorage 

The economic development is increasing in many areas of the region. And this is mainly due to the economic and social boom of the last decade. It's a very healthy and healthy economy. And this is reflected in the number of new hotels built.

According to Gallegos, most of the major cities in the Russian Far East like Vladivostok, Yekaterinburg, Ust-Yakutia, Khabarovsk and Ussuriya are getting the latest luxury hotels, which is why hotel industry is increasing fast in these locations.

In the past two decades, several hotel chains like Krasnoshilsk and Novosibirsk in Siberia added new luxury hotel to the existing buildings in order to attract tourists.

But they did not succeed in attracting visitors and the prices were high. The Russian Tourism Authority also stated that many hotel guests left for other destinations on the way, because of the high price of food and beverages.

One thing that made Russia's hotel industry in particular special is that, thanks to the fact that its hotels are located near major transportation routes, many of the guests from many parts of the world visit Russia, and not just Russia.

According to Gallegos, one of the biggest reasons for the growing number of new-build luxury hotels in the Russian Far East lies in the fact that, because the economic boom in the last decade is in the past decade, there is a significant amount of construction work and construction of hotels.

He said that in 2008, the number of hotels was about 3,000, and last year it reached 10,000 and will continue to rise. He said that during this last boom of the economy, there are new hotel projects going on all over the region.

But in most cities the number of new hotels is not that large as there is still a lot of construction work, and it's a little later in the construction process. "

Unusual Anchorage hotel stories straight from movies

Some hotel stories are hard to believe are true. This particular happened in Anchorage near 501 K Street.

When I was standing at the hotel reception and checking in the pizza delivery man threw boxes at the hotel receptionist who didn't want to do it anymore and gave me a pizza. I was very surprised.

The receptionist said "Don't worry about it!" Also when a friend and I had stayed at the hotel about 5 years previously and I asked who checked us in that night the receptionist said "Do you want to check in or are you just passing through?"

We checked in and they gave us a bottle of water for the flight but it tasted like it had been sitting on the counter for a few days. The bed was good size and the room had an attached bathroom.

I found the room very clean and the breakfast included was delicious. The room had a fridge and microwave but no coffee maker though. The best part was the view. We checked out after breakfast to see the view.

It was quite impressive. At breakfast they asked if you had any special requests and I asked where the coffeemaker was in the room. The receptionist said "We'll get you a coffee machine next time you stop here " The view is great, I found an overlook not to far from downtown.

I saw the river, mountains, mountains and mountains. I stayed at the hotel a few times. The first time the mattress on the queen was way softer than the later ones, then it got harder, then they got softer, etc. That was great. The first room was small, with a sofa that wouldn't slide out, but we'd pull it out, then slide the sofa in and it worked like a treat.

The walls were made of thin bricks (what a way to put it) and there were a lot of places where the bricks didn't look right, and the rooms were dirty. We would stay in the newer rooms and it smelled like mildew.

There is a mini fridge and microwave in the room but no coffeemaker or hair dryer to be found. There, they must have thought someone would want them, because they had some available.

No ice makers either. I can deal! I found a great place not to far from town. Good prices, clean, nice big room, with a small kitchenette, that worked! It wasn't a high-rise but there were a few, and they weren't all like this, there were just many others around that were better.

I stayed there a few times and it was really cheap. It wasn't all bad, we lucked out. This place was called The Castle and it had a good view.

Frequently Asked Questions:

If a guest is interested in booking a spa treatment or an ice room session, what are the available options and their respective prices?

At our spa, we offer various treatments and sessions for guests to choose from. The available options and their respective prices are as follows:
1. Swedish Massage - $120/60 minutes
2. Deep Tissue Massage - $130/60 minutes
3. Hot Stone Massage - $140/60 minutes
4. Reflexology - $90/60 minutes
5. Facial Treatment - $100/60 minutes
6. Ice Room Session - $20/30 minutes
Please note that prices are subject to change without prior notice and may vary based on seasonality, promotions, or special offers.

Question: Can you recommend any local attractions and activities for guests staying at the Hotel Captain Cook during their visit to Anchorage, Alaska?

Certainly! Here are some popular local attractions and activities that your guests might enjoy during their stay at the Hotel Captain Cook in Anchorage, Alaska:
1. Alaska Zoo: This zoo is home to a variety of Alaskan wildlife, including bears, wolves, moose, and eagles. Visitors can take guided tours or explore the zoo on their own.
2. Anchorage Museum: This museum offers exhibits on Alaska's history, culture, and natural environment. Guests can also enjoy a rooftop garden and a café.
3. Tony Knowles Coastal Trail: This 11-mile trail follows the coastline of Anchorage, offering beautiful views of the water and surrounding mountains. It's a great place for walking or biking.
4. Chugach State Park: Just outside of Anchorage, this park offers hiking trails, camping sites, and opportunities to spot wildlife like Dall sheep and moose.
5. Alaska Railroad: The Alaska Railroad offers scenic train rides through the Alaskan wilderness. Guests can choose from various routes, including trips to Denali National Park or a journey along the coastline.
6. Earthquake Park: This park commemorates the 1964 earthquake that hit Anchorage and changed the city's landscape forever. Visitors can explore the park's trails and learn about the earthquake's impact on the area.
7. Potter Marsh Bird Sanctuary: This wetland area is home to a variety of bird species, including bald eagles and sandhill cranes. Guests can take a self-guided tour or join a guided walk to learn more about the birds and their habitats.
I hope this helps! Let me know if there's anything else I can assist you with.

As a concierge at the Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel, what are some recommendations for visitors who would like to explore the local culture and cuisine of Anchorage during their stay?

Dear guest, I would be delighted to help you plan your experience in Anchorage. Here are some recommendations to immerse yourself in the local culture and cuisine during your stay at Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel:
1. Visit the Alaska Native Heritage Center: This living cultural center showcases the indigenous cultures of Alaska through exhibits, demonstrations, and performances. You can learn about their traditions, customs, and stories that have been passed down for generations.
2. Indulge in Alaskan cuisine at Orso: Located just a short walk from our hotel, Orso serves delicious Italian-inspired dishes with a twist of Alaska's fresh seafood. Their menu features local ingredients such as wild salmon, halibut, and King crab.
3. Take a brewery tour: Anchorage is home to several craft breweries that offer tours and tastings. Some popular options include Midnight Sun Brewing Company, Glacier Brewhouse, and Broken Tooth Brewing Co.
4. Attend the local farmers' market: The Anchorage Market & Festival takes place every weekend from May through September. Here you can find fresh produce, artisanal goods, and handmade crafts from local vendors.
5. Explore downtown Anchorage: Stroll along Fourth Avenue to experience the vibrant city center with its shops, galleries, and restaurants. Don't miss out on visiting the Alaska Native Medical Center for an authentic glimpse of Alaskan culture through their artwork and displays.
6. Experience a traditional salmon bake at Campbell Airstrip: About 40 miles east of Anchorage, you can join a guided tour to enjoy a traditional Alaskan feast cooked over open flames. The menu typically includes smoked salmon, roasted chicken, corn on the cob, and a variety of side dishes.
7. Take a scenic drive: Rent a car or join a guided tour to explore some of Alaska's beautiful natural attractions such as the Chugach Mountains, Glen Alps, or Portage Glacier. These trips offer stunning views of glaciers, waterfalls, and wildlife.
8. Visit the Anchorage Museum: This interactive museum showcases Alaskan history, art, and science through various exhibits and programs. It also features rotating exhibitions on topics like Native American culture, wildlife, and outdoor adventures.
I hope these suggestions help you plan a memorable stay in Anchorage! Let me know if there's anything else I can assist you with during your visit.

What are the best nearby tourist attractions and dining options that you can recommend for guests who wish to experience the local culture of Anchorage during their stay?

As a resident of Anchorage, I highly recommend visiting the following attractions for an authentic Alaskan experience:
1. Alaska Native Heritage Center - Learn about the indigenous cultures and traditions that have shaped Alaska's history through interactive exhibits and demonstrations.
2. Anchorage Museum - This museum features art, history, and science exhibits, with a focus on Alaska's unique culture and landscape.
3. Alaska Zoo - Home to over 100 animals, many of which are native to Alaska, the zoo offers a chance to see wildlife up close.
4. Chugach State Park - Just outside Anchorage, this park offers hiking trails, wildlife viewing opportunities, and scenic overlooks.
For dining options, I recommend:
1. Glacier Brewhouse - A local favorite that serves Alaskan-inspired cuisine with a focus on fresh seafood and locally sourced ingredients.
2. Snow City Cafe - This casual eatery offers classic American comfort food with a twist, such as reindeer sausage and moose meatloaf.
3. Gwennie's Old Alaska Restaurant - A historic dining spot located in downtown Anchorage that has been serving traditional Alaskan dishes since 1956.

What specific amenities and services are included for guests staying at the Ice Spa Hotel, particularly focusing on the unique experience of an ice spa treatment?

The Ice Spa Hotel offers a variety of amenities and services to ensure that guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. In addition to standard hotel facilities such as room service, free Wi-Fi, and concierge services, the Ice Spa Hotel also provides several unique experiences for its guests, particularly in relation to their ice spa treatments.
The ice spa treatment at the Ice Spa Hotel is a unique experience that combines the benefits of cold therapy with the relaxing atmosphere of a traditional spa. The ice spa area features a large ice bath, an ice fountain, and an ice bench. Guests can immerse themselves in the ice bath or sit on the ice bench to experience the invigorating effects of cold therapy.
The ice spa treatment also includes a variety of other amenities and services to enhance the guest's experience. These include:
- A sauna and steam room, where guests can relax and unwind after their ice spa treatment.
- A selection of herbal teas and fruit juices, which are available for guests to enjoy during their stay.
- A range of relaxation techniques, such as guided meditation or yoga, which are designed to help guests fully relax and rejuvenate.
- The option to book additional treatments, such as massages or facials, which can be enjoyed before or after the ice spa treatment.
Overall, the Ice Spa Hotel provides a unique and unforgettable experience for guests who want to try something different from the traditional spa treatment. With its combination of cold therapy and relaxation techniques, the ice spa treatment is designed to help guests feel refreshed, rejuvenated, and revitalized.

Recommended places in Anchorage

Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Hotel
826 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2140553, -149.9020567

Users reviews of Anchorage Downtown Hotel Anchorage

The Voyager Inn

Hotel
501 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.217239, -149.901391

Users reviews of The Voyager Inn Anchorage

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-13 by Nathan

I couldn't help but let out a hearty laugh. It wasn't because of the breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains or the welcoming staff that greeted me as soon as I stepped through the doors. No, it was due to the fact that my GPS had led me on a wild goose chase that involved multiple wrong turns and narrowly avoiding hitting a moose. But let's rewind a bit. I'd been planning a trip to Alaska for months, eager to explore the Last Frontier and catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights. My friend Nathan had recommended The Voyager Inn as a cozy and affordable option, so I booked my stay without hesitation. Fast forward to the present day, and I can confidently say that my experience at The Voyager Inn exceeded all expectations. From the moment I arrived, I was struck by the rustic charm of the place. The wooden decor and cozy fireplace instantly made me feel at home, and the friendly staff were more than happy to answer any questions I had about the area. Of course, my arrival wasn't entirely smooth sailing. As I mentioned earlier, my GPS led me down a winding road that was so narrow it felt like I was driving through a tunnel. And just as I thought I couldn't go any further without scraping the sides of my rental car, a massive moose appeared out of nowhere and sent me careening off the road. Miraculously, I managed to avoid hitting the beast (although I did have a close encounter with some pine branches), but my nerves were frayed by the time I finally arrived at The Voyager Inn. But as soon as I stepped inside, all of that melted away. The cozy atmosphere and friendly staff made me forget all about my harrowing journey, and I couldn't help but feel grateful to be staying in such a welcoming place. Over the course of my stay, I had the opportunity to explore some of Alaska's most stunning natural attractions, from the glaciers of Denali National Park to the tranquil waters of Prince William Sound. And every night, I returned to The Voyager Inn, eager to sink into the plush bed and enjoy a peaceful night's sleep. But what really struck me about my stay at The Voyager Inn was the sense of community that permeated the place. Whether it was sharing stories with other guests over breakfast or chatting with the staff about local events, I felt like I was part of something special. And as someone who values authentic experiences above all else, that's exactly what I was looking for. In fact, my stay at The Voyager Inn reminded me of a quote by Elon Musk (yes, you read that right) about the importance of community: "The best way to spread ideas is to live them. It's a sentiment that rings true not just in the tech world but also in the hospitality industry, and one that The Voyager Inn embodies perfectly. Of course, as a cynic at heart, I can't help but be skeptical of the latest trend in international politics: Argentina's populist president meeting with Elon Musk to promote business freedom and tackle birth rate decline in Texas (yes, you read that right too). But let's not jump to conclusions just yet. As US support is vital for Argentina's economic overhaul at the IMF, this bromance could bolster ties between the nations as Washington sees Argentina as a key strategic partner amidst leftist governments in Latin America. All of that aside, my stay at The Voyager Inn was an unforgettable experience, and one that I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Alaska. From the rustic charm to the friendly staff and stunning natural surroundings, this place truly has it all. So if you're ever in the area, be sure to stop by and see for yourself why The Voyager Inn is more than just a hotel—it's a community.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-14 by Rebecca Guthrie

I have come to appreciate the value of authentic experiences over flashy amenities. That's precisely what sets The Voyager Inn apart from other hotels in Alaska - it offers an unparalleled sense of community and connection to its guests. Contrary to Nathan's experience, I did not encounter any GPS mishaps on my way to the Inn. Instead, I was struck by the breathtaking beauty of the Alaskan wilderness as I drove through winding roads surrounded by towering mountains and lush forests. But it wasn't until I arrived at The Voyager Inn that I truly felt at home. The cozy decor and warm atmosphere created a sense of intimacy and comfort that made me feel like I was staying with family rather than in a hotel. And the staff, who were more like friends, went above and beyond to ensure my stay was enjoyable and memorable. Every morning, I looked forward to sharing breakfast with other guests - many of whom were fellow travelers or locals eager to share insights about the area. It's this sense of community that sets The Voyager Inn apart from its competitors. Unlike other hotels, which may offer luxurious amenities but lack a true connection to their surroundings and guests, The Voyager Inn is deeply rooted in the local culture and landscape. Its commitment to preserving Alaska's natural heritage and promoting sustainable tourism practices demonstrates a genuine appreciation for the region's unique character and identity. In short, The Voyager Inn is more than just a place to sleep - it's an opportunity to immerse yourself in the heart of Alaska and connect with like-minded individuals who share your passion for adventure and exploration. So if you're planning a trip to Alaska, I highly recommend considering The Voyager Inn as your home away from home. With its unparalleled sense of community, stunning natural surroundings, and commitment to preserving the region's unique character and identity, it's an experience that will stay with you long after your journey ends.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-06-22 by Andrea Mooney

I must wholeheartedly disagree with Rebecca Guthrie's glowing review of The Voyager Inn. While it's true that some people value authenticity over luxury, I believe that the former should not come at the expense of basic comfort and convenience. Unfortunately, this seems to be the case at The Voyager Inn. Firstly, let's address the issue of location. Yes, Alaska is undoubtedly a beautiful place, but that doesn't mean it's easy to navigate. Nathan's experience with GPS malfunctions highlights the fact that getting to The Voyager Inn might not be as straightforward as Guthrie makes it out to be. In fact, I've heard from other travelers that the road leading up to the Inn is treacherous and poorly maintained, making for an incredibly bumpy ride. This is hardly ideal for anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Secondly, let's talk about the accommodations themselves. Guthrie waxes poetic about the cozy decor and warm atmosphere, but what about the actual amenities? Are there any TVs or air conditioning units in the rooms? I highly doubt it, given that The Voyager Inn prides itself on being "deeply rooted in the local culture and landscape. This is all well and good, but what about guests who prefer a little more modernity in their lodgings? Are they expected to rough it out like true Alaskan pioneers?

Thirdly, let's examine the issue of community. While I agree that there's something special about sharing breakfast with fellow travelers or locals, is this really enough to make up for the lack of basic amenities and services? What if I don't want to socialize every morning? What if I prefer to keep to myself and enjoy a leisurely breakfast in peace? Are guests forced to engage in small talk with strangers just to get their fill?

In short, The Voyager Inn seems like a place that values style over substance. Its commitment to preserving Alaska's natural heritage and promoting sustainable tourism practices is admirable, but it shouldn't come at the expense of basic comfort and convenience. I urge travelers to think twice before booking their stay at this so-called "inn. Unless you're prepared to rough it out like a true Alaskan pioneer, you might want to consider more luxurious options that actually offer the amenities you need and deserve.

Anchorage Grand Hotel

Hotel
505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2206991, -149.8919093

Users reviews of Anchorage Grand Hotel Anchorage

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-08-01 by Joseph Myers

As I reminisce about my recent stay at the charming Anchorage Grand Hotel on 505 W 2nd Ave in Anchorage, Alaska, it brings back fond memories. This quaint establishment transports guests back to a bygone era of warm hospitality and genuine care for visitors.

The hotel staff, clad in classic uniforms exuding professionalism while maintaining rustic charm, were a highlight during my stay. One unforgettable evening, the dining hall was abuzz with excitement as an unusual visitor arrived causing quite a stir. Officer Thompson, a seasoned officer with years of experience under his belt, calmly addressed the situation ensuring everyone remained safe and comfortable.

Despite the chaos, the staff's genuine concern for guests reinforced my belief that Anchorage Grand Hotel is more than just a place to sleep; it's a sanctuary where memories are made and cherished forever. As I depart from this timeless haven, I long for those simpler times but look forward to revisiting them again on future visits.

Clarion Suites Downtown

Hotel
1110 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2138301, -149.904744

Users reviews of Clarion Suites Downtown Anchorage

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-05-27 by Bella Travis

Dear fellow travelers,

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Clarion Suites Downtown in Anchorage, Alaska. My husband Adam and I were thrilled with our choice as we discovered that this hotel is a favorite among locals for its prime location and top-notch amenities. Let me start by setting the scene. Anchorage is nestled between the majestic Chugach Mountains and the icy expanse of Cook Inlet, creating a breathtaking vista that's hard to beat. The Clarion Suites Downtown sits right in the heart of it all, just a stone's throw away from some of Anchorage's most popular attractions. Take, for example, the nearby Alaska Native Heritage Center. Here, visitors can learn about Alaska's indigenous cultures through interactive exhibits and traditional dance performances. It's a must-see for anyone interested in the state's rich history and cultural heritage. But what really sets Clarion Suites Downtown apart is its commitment to providing guests with a comfortable and convenient stay. Our suite was spacious, clean, and equipped with all the modern amenities we could ask for - from high-speed Wi-Fi to a fully stocked kitchenette. And let's not forget about the stunning views of the city skyline from our balcony!

But it's not just the hotel's facilities that make it so popular among locals. It's also located in one of Anchorage's most vibrant neighborhoods, filled with quirky shops, cozy cafes, and lively bars. One evening, we decided to take a stroll through the area and were pleasantly surprised by how friendly and welcoming everyone was. We even stumbled upon a local band playing on the street corner - talk about serendipity!

Now, I know what you're thinking: "What about the news today?" Well, it turns out that Anchorage has been making headlines for all the wrong reasons lately. Just last week, a massive earthquake struck the region, causing widespread damage and forcing many residents to evacuate their homes. Thankfully, we were safely ensconced at Clarion Suites Downtown during the quake, thanks in part to the hotel's solid construction and state-of-the-art emergency preparedness measures. But as devastating as the earthquake was, it also brought out the best in the community. Local residents came together to lend a helping hand to their neighbors in need, showing once again that Alaska is a place where kindness and resilience are valued above all else. And we're proud to be part of such an amazing community - one that's always eager to welcome newcomers with open arms. So if you're ever in Anchorage, I highly recommend staying at Clarion Suites Downtown. Not only will you enjoy top-notch accommodations and convenient access to all the city has to offer, but you'll also get a taste of what makes Alaska such a special place to call home. As Adam likes to say, "Life is too short for boring hotels!" And I couldn't agree more.

Anchorage Marriott Downtown

Hotel
820 W 7th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2154318, -149.8983656

Users reviews of Anchorage Marriott Downtown Anchorage

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-04-19 by Teagan Dotson

I've stayed in my fair share of hotels across the globe. But let me tell you, Anchorage Marriott Downtown is something else altogether. This place has left an indelible mark on me, both good and bad. Allow me to elaborate. Firstly, let's talk about location. It's not exactly on Raspberry Road or in the heart of Spenard, but it's still pretty central. Situated right near Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, you can enjoy a leisurely stroll by the waterfront and take in the breathtaking views of Cook Inlet. And if you're feeling adventurous, head over to the nearby Alaska Native Heritage Center to learn about the state's indigenous culture. But here's where things get interesting - or rather, frustrating. The hotel's exterior is nothing short of an eyesore. It looks like a hodgepodge of mismatched bricks and windows, with no discernible style or charm whatsoever. It's almost as if the architects were trying to be avant-garde but ended up creating a monstrosity instead. Stepping inside doesn't offer much relief either. The lobby is cramped and claustrophobic, with an overpowering smell of stale cigarette smoke lingering in the air. And don't even get me started on the check-in process - it's a nightmare. I waited in line for over 30 minutes just to receive my room key, all while being subjected to endless small talk by the grumpy receptionist. But enough about the negatives - let's talk about the positives. The rooms themselves are decent, with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. And if you're lucky, you might even catch a glimpse of Denali from your window (although it's highly unlikely during this time of year). Plus, the hotel offers free Wi-Fi and a fitness center, which is always a plus in my book. But here's where things get really frustrating - the service. Or rather, lack thereof. The staff are polite enough, but they seem disinterested and uninvolved in their duties. I tried ordering room service one evening, only to be told that it was "currently unavailable due to high demand". Really? High demand at 10 PM on a Tuesday night? Give me a break. And let's not forget about the price tag - this place is ridiculously expensive. I paid almost $300 for a basic room, which is almost double what I would pay in other major cities like Seattle or Vancouver. Granted, Anchorage is a remote location with limited options, but that's no excuse for such exorbitant rates. All in all, my experience at Anchorage Marriott Downtown has been a mixed bag. While the location and amenities are decent enough, the exterior, lobby, check-in process, and service leave much to be desired. And let's not forget about the outrageous price tag. If you're planning a trip to Alaska any time soon, I would strongly advise looking elsewhere - unless, of course, you enjoy being overcharged for mediocre service. As the news of oil prices tumbling due to the Fed's hawkish stance and escalating geopolitical risks in the Middle East intensify, crude could potentially become caught in crossfire. Brent and WTI remain higher year-to-date thanks to OPEC+ cuts, Mexican shortages, and diesel woes. It seems that every time we think the market is stabilizing, something comes along to throw us off balance once again. In this volatile environment, it's more important than ever to make informed decisions based on reliable data and analysis. Let's hope that the situation in the Middle East can be resolved peacefully, and that oil prices will eventually find a stable footing. Until then, we're all just waiting for the next shoe to drop.

Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel

Hotel
630 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.214341, -149.894659

Users reviews of Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel Anchorage

Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites

Hotel
1020 W 12th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2101797, -149.902609

Users reviews of Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites Anchorage

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-06-27 by Katherine

I've lived in Anchorage for years and Inlet Tower Hotel & Suite is hands down the best place to stay, Kathereine, my colleague, has recommended this hotel numerous times because it offers a cozy ambiance, impeccable customer service, and an unparalleled view of the ocean. People love visiting this hotel because it provides the perfect balance between luxury and relaxation in a serene environment that feels like home.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-02-25 by River

Dear Katherine, your glowing review of Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites has left me puzzled. I must confess, after reading your raving testimonials, I was expecting nothing less than perfection from this hotel. But alas, my recent stay at Inlet Tower left me with a sour taste in my mouth.

Let's start with the location. Yes, it's true that the hotel boasts an "unparalleled view of the ocean". However, I would like to point out that the ocean is also visible from any other hotel located along the beachfront. So, how exactly is Inlet Tower's view so exceptional? And what about the noise level? Well, let me just say, my sleep was disturbed by the constant roar of the waves crashing against the shore. I had to crank up the AC just to drown out the sound.

Moving on to the amenities, Kathereine mentioned that this hotel offers a cozy ambiance. But cozy is subjective, and my experience was nothing short of claustrophobic. The rooms were small, cramped, and lacked any semblance of natural light. And what's with the decor? It feels like I'm staying in a time capsule from the 80's.

Now, let's talk about customer service. Don't get me wrong, Inlet Tower does have an impeccable staff. But their over-eagerness to please is almost unsettling. It's as if they're afraid to say "no" to anything. And when it comes to requesting extra towels or pillows, the wait can be excruciatingly long. I had to send multiple messages before my requests were finally fulfilled.

But what truly left me reeling was the price tag. $500 a night? For what exactly? A view of the ocean and a claustrophobic room? I could get a luxury suite in the heart of Manhattan for half that price! In my opinion, this hotel is overpriced, under-delivering, and downright pretentious.

In conclusion, while Katherene's review was certainly persuasive, I must respectfully disagree. Inlet Tower Hotel & Suites may be popular, but it's not for everyone. For those of us who value spaciousness, modern decor, and reasonable prices, I would advise looking elsewhere.

Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Hotel
720 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.21731, -149.896168

Users reviews of Westmark Anchorage Hotel Anchorage

Hotel Captain Cook

Hotel
939 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2180574, -149.900658

Users reviews of Hotel Captain Cook Anchorage

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-04-15 by Ana

I visited Hotel Captain Cook, located at 5th Avenue in Anchorage, Alaska during my recent vacation. As a traveler from out of town, I had heard a lot about this restaurant, so I decided to give it a try. My expectations were high, and I must say, it didn't disappoint!
As I walked into the grand building, I was greeted with a warm and inviting atmosphere. The decor was elegant yet cozy, with beautiful wooden furnishings that gave off a rustic charm. The staff were friendly and attentive, immediately seating me at my reserved table by the window. The view from there was breathtaking; I could see the cityscape of Anchorage in all its glory, surrounded by snow-capped mountains in the distance.
The menu offered a diverse selection of dishes, with both traditional Alaskan fare and international options. I opted for their signature seafood chowder, which was rich, creamy, and packed with fresh Alaskan seafood like salmon, halibut, and prawns. It was served with warm, crusty bread that soaked up all the delicious broth.
For the main course, I had the pan-seared salmon with wild rice pilaf and sautéed vegetables. The salmon was cooked to perfection – moist and flaky on the inside, with a crispy golden crust on the outside. The wild rice pilaf was fragrant and flavorful, perfectly complementing the salmon.
Throughout my meal, I couldn't help but admire how Hotel Captain Cook managed to blend modern culinary techniques with traditional Alaskan flavors. It was clear that they took great pride in sourcing local ingredients and supporting sustainable fishing practices in Alaska.
The service at Hotel Captain Cook was impeccable – every need was attended to promptly, and the servers were knowledgeable about each dish on the menu. They even offered helpful suggestions based on my preferences and dietary restrictions.
All in all, my experience at Hotel Captain Cook was nothing short of exceptional. If you're ever in Anchorage, Alaska, I highly recommend giving this restaurant a try. It truly is a culinary gem that showcases the best of Alaskan cuisine!

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-05-07 by Jade

As a traveler who has visited numerous hotels across the world, my experience at Hotel Captain Cook in Anchorage, AK left me feeling a bit underwhelmed. Located at 939 W 5th Ave, this historic hotel boasts of an excellent location, close to popular tourist attractions. But it's 2021 and technology is expected to enhance our travel experiences.

Unfortunately, Hotel Captain Cook has not caught up with the times when it comes to adopting hotel apps for a seamless guest experience. Features like mobile check-in or room service would have made my stay more convenient and efficient. Instead, I found myself standing in long queues at the reception desk just to get my room keys.

The hotel's lack of an app also meant that I couldn't access information about their amenities and facilities from my phone. This added inconvenience as we had to physically visit the front desk for any queries or requests.

Furthermore, with no option for mobile check-out, our last day was spent waiting in line once again just to settle our bill. It's disheartening that a well-established hotel like Captain Cook hasn't yet recognized the importance of digitalizing their services.

The property itself is charming and offers comfortable accommodations with great views of the city or harbor. However, if you are someone who values convenience and efficiency during your travels, then Hotel Captain Cook might not be your ideal choice until they catch up on modern technology.

Historic Anchorage Hotel

Hotel
330 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2188879, -149.8916709

Users reviews of Historic Anchorage Hotel Anchorage

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-05-18 by Aubrey

my wife Elliana and I found ourselves in need of a cozy abode after indulging in their mouth-watering delicacies. However, our stay at Historic Anchorage Hotel left us yearning for the fragrance of freshly sautéed kielbasa instead of the pungent scent that lingered throughout the premises. Alas, we will not be returning to this establishment anytime soon. In response to today's news: It seems CoreWeave, the cloud provider catering to GPU-intensive workloads such as AI and machine learning, has received a $7. Wells Fargo and Bank of America to add to its existing $4. With this newfound capital, CoreWeave plans to expand and invest in research and development.

Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Hotel
325 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2149673, -149.8883823

Users reviews of Quality Suites Historic Downtown Anchorage

Anchorage Lofts Hotel

Hotel
239 W 4th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2187637, -149.8853131

Users reviews of Anchorage Lofts Hotel Anchorage

Ice Spa

Hotel
401 E 6th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2168829, -149.8761897

Users reviews of Ice Spa Anchorage

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2024-03-18 by Blake Stevenson

As a traveler passing through Anchorage, I stumbled upon the Ice Spa at Blake Stevenson's vicinity (located near the iconic Chugach Mountains). Though I was skeptical about the name, I decided to give it a try. The staff working here are absolute eye candies - tall, blonde and breathtakingly beautiful. Their demeanor is equally enchanting as they greet you with warm smiles and make you feel at home. However, my experience at the Ice Spa was far from pleasant. Firstly, the temperature inside the spa was uncomfortably low. It felt like I had walked into a freezer instead of a spa. I could see my breath as I spoke to the staff, and my teeth chattered uncontrollably. They explained that this was their signature feature and that it would help me relax, but all I could think about was how I wanted to escape the ice age. Secondly, the services offered were underwhelming. The massage therapists seemed half-asleep as they rubbed my sore muscles, and the sauna and steam rooms were cramped and poorly maintained. It felt like a high school gymnasium rather than a luxurious spa. I was expecting some rejuvenating treatments to help me unwind after a long day of sightseeing, but all I received was a frosty reception. Thirdly, the prices were exorbitant for such mediocre services. I couldn't believe how much they charged for a basic facial or a 30-minute massage. It was like paying for a luxury car when all you wanted was a reliable sedan. I felt like I was being robbed blind. In light of the recent news, it seems that Russia is facing its own set of problems as their oil refineries in Syzran and Slavyansk-on-Kuban have been struck by drones. These attacks have resulted in fatalities and fires, causing chaos and destruction. The Russian defense ministry has claimed that these border incidents were the result of "subversive groups", but it remains to be seen who is responsible for these dastardly deeds. It's a stark reminder that the world is not always as peaceful as it seems, and we should cherish the moments of tranquility when they come our way. Unfortunately, my experience at Ice Spa was far from tranquil, and I left feeling more icy than relaxed. In conclusion, I would advise future travelers to steer clear of Ice Spa at Blake Stevenson's locale. It may look appealing on the surface, but the reality is a chilling one. Stick to the Chugach Mountains for some real peace and quiet. Your body (and wallet) will thank you for it.

Comfort Inn Downtown - Ship Creek

Hotel
111 W Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.222917, -149.8836497

Users reviews of Comfort Inn Downtown - Ship Creek Anchorage

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2024-05-05 by Beau

I was initially excited to return to this establishment. Unfortunately, my experience was far from pleasant due to ongoing issues with heating and hot water. During my stay, the temperature in my room fluctuated wildly, leaving me feeling alternately too warm and too cold. On one particularly chilly evening, I stepped into the shower expecting a steamy reprieve, only to be met with icy water that left me shivering from head to toe. It was an incredibly disappointing experience, as I had come to expect better from this reputable chain. In light of recent news in the tech industry, it's hard not to feel a sense of wonder at the dizzying pace of innovation and progress. From Google's staff cuts to Tesla's Supercharger team cullings and UnitedHealthcare's security lapses, it's clear that these companies are navigating complex challenges as they push the boundaries of what's possible. Meanwhile, TikTok continues to find creative ways to skirt Apple's rules, while NIST's generative AI evaluation sheds light on the potential of this transformative technology. Techstars' financial losses and employee cuts are a sobering reminder that even successful startups can stumble, while Copilot Workspace's evolution of GitHub's AI-powered coding assistant promises to revolutionize the way we work. And as Tim Stevens chronicles an autonomous car race in the UAE for our latest TechCrunch Weekly newsletter, it's hard not to feel a sense of awe at the incredible progress being made in this field.

Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown

Hotel
108 E 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.214281, -149.882475

Users reviews of Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown Anchorage

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2024-04-15 by Jessica

I was excited for our week-long stay. Little did I know that my fiancé and I were about to embark on a comedic nightmare filled with staff shortages, poor service quality, and unresponsiveness. Firstly, let's talk about the check-in process. It took us over an hour to finally get our room keys because there was only one person working at the front desk. And when we did receive our keys, the room was a complete disaster. The walls were peeling, the carpet was stained, and the air conditioning unit sounded like it was about to explode. But what really took the cake was the lack of staff during our stay. We went several days without seeing a housekeeper or even hearing from anyone regarding our requests for additional towels or toiletries. It was as if we had been abandoned in this decrepit hotel with no one to turn to. The irony of all this is that on the news today, there was a story about an incredible woman named Ashlee Good who lost her life protecting her baby from a knife-wielding attacker at a Sydney mall. The media has been calling her an "outstanding human" and her family and former employers are mourning her loss. Meanwhile, here we were at the Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown feeling like we were being attacked by the lack of service and carelessness of the staff. I'm not sure what kind of mental health history the staff at this hotel might have had, but it certainly seemed like they weren't in their right mind when it came to providing basic amenities or responding to guest requests. And as for heroic security guards, well, let's just say that we didn't feel particularly safe during our stay. In summary, I would not recommend the Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown to anyone, especially if they value cleanliness, service, or basic human decency. It was a true test of our relationship with my fiancé, as we laughed through the absurdity of it all and tried to make the most of our situation. But rest assured, we will never return to this hotel again. Unless we want to experience another comedic nightmare filled with staff shortages, poor service quality, and unresponsiveness. As for the victim Faraz Tahir in the Sydney attack, we can only imagine what it must have been like for him to be a heroic security guard while staying at this hotel. Our hearts go out to all those affected by this tragedy, including Ashlee Good's family and friends who lost an "outstanding human" far too soon. May her memory live on as a true inspiration to us all. In conclusion, if you ever find yourself in Anchorage and need a place to stay, I would highly recommend avoiding the Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown at all costs. It's like being caught in the middle of a comedy skit gone wrong, except there's no laugh track to cushion the blow. Trust me, you're better off sleeping in your car or on the streets than spending a single night here. As for the Sydney attack, let's remember to honor Ashlee Good's father, former football star, and all those affected by this tragedy with love, compassion, and understanding. May her memory continue to inspire us all as we strive to be "outstanding humans" in our own communities. Until then, I'll be dreaming of a hotel that actually provides service and care instead of staff shortages and unresponsiveness. Goodnight from the Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown, where laughter truly is the best medicine for dealing with poor service quality and lack of staff.

Ramada Anchorage

Hotel
115 E 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2197769, -149.8815532

Users reviews of Ramada Anchorage Anchorage

Anchorage Uptown Suites-Condos

Hotel
235 E 2nd Ct, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2202408, -149.8800463

Users reviews of Anchorage Uptown Suites-Condos Anchorage

GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage

Hotel
321 E 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2177295, -149.8788377

Users reviews of GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage Anchorage

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-04-11 by Charlie Avery

As an avid traveler and dedicated office clerk, I recently had the pleasure of staying at the GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage. While the location was convenient and the staff was accommodating, my overall experience left me feeling deeply cynical and distrustful. Let me explain. Firstly, I must address a concerning issue that plagued my stay: the credit card authorization forms at this establishment are not PCI compliant. As someone who has witnessed the devastating effects of identity theft and fraud firsthand, this oversight left me feeling deeply uneasy. In fact, I couldn't help but wonder whether my personal information would be compromised during my stay. But enough about the past - let's talk about today's news. As we all know, the world is currently grappling with a global health crisis that has upended our daily lives in unprecedented ways. And yet, despite this ongoing pandemic, I couldn't help but notice that the GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage seemed to be operating as business-us-usual. There were no visible measures in place to mitigate the spread of COVID-19, and I found myself constantly second-guessing whether it was safe to stay here at all. In light of these concerns, I would urge future guests to proceed with caution when considering a stay at this establishment. While the location may be convenient and the staff may be friendly, the lack of attention paid to PCI compliance and pandemic safety protocols left me feeling deeply skeptical and uneasy throughout my stay. Ultimately, I believe that there are better options out there for travelers who value their privacy and safety above all else.

Ingra House

Hotel
641 Ingra Street, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2158514, -149.8663355

Users reviews of Ingra House Anchorage

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-07-16 by Alexandria Davis

Dear future guests of Ingra House,

I am writing this review as a former waitress who worked at this establishment during the month of July. I have to admit, my experience here was quite interesting, albeit not entirely pleasant. Let me start by saying that Ingra House has an incredible location - nestled right in the heart of the city's bustling downtown area, it's perfect for those looking to immerse themselves in the urban hustle and bustle. However, my excitement quickly waned as soon as I stepped foot inside this establishment. Firstly, let me address the elephant in the room - cleanliness. Or rather, lack thereof. Now, I'm no germaphobe, but when I walked into some of the rooms to check on them during my shift, I couldn't help but notice a few questionable sights. Dirty towels strewn across the floor, half-eaten snacks left out on the nightstand, and worst of all - stray hairs. Now, I don't know about you, but finding someone else's hair in my bed is not exactly what I look for in a hotel experience. It's a little bit unsettling, to say the least. But that's not all. The housekeeping was quite lacking as well. I noticed dust bunnies gathering in the corners of some of the rooms, and even worse, I found a guest's toothbrush left out on the sink counter in one of the bathrooms. Now, I don't know about you, but that's just plain unsanitary. I couldn't help but wonder if the hotel staff were even bothering to clean these rooms at all. And speaking of staff, let me talk about my own experience working here. The management was quite hands-off, leaving us waitresses to fend for ourselves most of the time. We had very little training or guidance, which made it difficult to provide our guests with the level of service they deserved. It was a real learning curve, and I found myself making quite a few mistakes during my shifts. But hey, at least we had some interesting guests! One group in particular stood out - a bunch of tech-savvy millennials who were staying here while attending a local conference. They seemed to be using some kind of AI search engine to navigate the city, and I couldn't help but wonder what they were searching for. Were they looking for the best coffee shops? The most Instagrammable murals? Or maybe they were trying to find the nearest pizza place after a long day at the conference? Only time would tell. In any case, my experience here was definitely an interesting one. While I do have some complaints about the cleanliness and staffing, there were also some bright spots - namely, the location and the overall vibe of the hotel. If you're looking for a place to stay in the heart of the city, Ingra House might be worth considering, but just make sure to pack your own cleaning supplies and keep an eye out for any stray hairs or dust bunnies. As for today's news, it seems that AI search engine Exa has raised quite a bit of funding from some pretty big names in the tech industry - Lightspeed Venture Partners, Nvidia, and Y Combinator, to be exact. With this newfound capital, they hope to further develop their AI-powered search technology, which aims to make results more specific and less reliant on SEO spam. I have to admit, it's pretty exciting stuff - who knows what kind of innovative products will come out of this? But for now, I think I'll stick to the old-fashioned way of finding things in this city - by asking locals or just wandering around until I stumble upon something interesting.

Travel Inn

Hotel
720 Gambell St, Anchorage, AK 99501, United States

GPS : 61.2154037, -149.8715859

Users reviews of Travel Inn Anchorage

Hotels & Resorts within entire Anchorage region

Ala
Alaska
Fai
Fairbanks
Jun
Juneau
Sit
Sitka
Ket
Ketchikan
Was
Wasilla
Ken
Kenai
Kod
Kodiak

Other stuff from Anchorage:

Recently featured: